Google Translate Starts Visual Translation of 13 More Languages

According to a report, published on VentureBeat, the Google Translate app will visually translate 13 new languages by using the camera on your smartphone from this week.

Google added the visual translation feature into the Translate app of 27 different languages In 2015. It allows users to translate dinner menus and signs in real time to make communication abroad much easier. Now it is going to add Punjabi, Bengali, Vietnamese, Thai, Gujarati, Kannada, Nepali, Tamil, Telugu, and Malayalam languages into this app. Now, this app will support the total number of languages close to 50.

Users can access the feature by navigation to the camera icon on the home screen. The app will start prompting the user to line up the text to the attempted words to translate and a photo should be taken out. After that, the app will scan the text using Neural Machine Translation (NMT), which will then provide an accurate translation into the language of user choice.

The new additions will be applicable to both the iOS and Android versions. Google has started rolling out to devices since mid-October 2018.

Also Read: